Full-spectrum vs. Broad-spectrum

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Donna Porter
    Participant

I would very much appreciate feedback/opinions on this topic. From all the literature I have read, it is my understanding that a product is FULL-SPECTRUM when the COA reveals that the extract used contained CBD, THC, plus other cannabinoids and terpenes. A product is BROAD-SPECTRUM when the COA shows it contains CBD plus other cannabinoids and terpenes, BUT NO THC. I guess the question boils down to can a THC FREE product be considered FULL-SPECTRUM? Also, can a company rightfully claim their product is FULL-SPECTRUM if the COA only reveal it contains CBD & THC – possibly because that is all the company tested for was these two cannabinoids.

Intellectual Panda
    Participant

Hi Donna,

Looks like I am the first to respond although I would love to hear what other people have to say, as I am not an expert.

I can’t help much on clarifying full spec vs broad spec concentrates. The way you describe it is how I understand it, though it seems possible to me that what is technically (by our definition) broad spec could still be marketed as full spec for the reason I state below. Also, I will have to look into this further, but for broad spec products, is there a reliable way to remove THC from a concentrate or is it oil sourced from plant material with no THC? Because I would expect nearly all extracts to contain some level of THC straight from the plant material, even if it is only trace amounts.